Police Department


Chief Preston Dorsey
McDonough Police Department
50 Lawrenceville Street
Phone: 770-957-1218
Email: pdorsey@mcdonoughga.org 


The McDonough Police Department is located at 50 Lawrenceville Street, McDonough, GA 30253. The McDonough Police Department is open Monday- Friday, 8:00 AM- 5:00 PM. Administrative offices are closed on major holidays.  


The City of McDonough Police Services Department maintains responsibility for all law enforcement activities within the City limits by providing a dedicated force of diligent and effective personnel who work to protect the rights and safety of residents and visitors of this fair City. 

Vision Statement:

To maintain progressive inventories of growth, technical applications, and geographic change factors that influence public safety, and quality of life issues affecting the business and residential populations in McDonough.

Department Values:

  • Human life and dignity
  • Professional excellence
  • Honor, ethics, and integrity
  • Commitment to community service
  • A strengthened and cohesive police force
  • Protecting constitutional rights of the victims of crimes,
  • as well as the accused
  • An ingrained culture of organizational effectiveness

The McDonough Police Department currently has 49 full time certified and 5 non-certified employees and is staffed by four shifts of uniformed patrol officers working 7:00 a.m.-7:00 p.m. and 7:00 p.m.-7:00 a.m. These officers respond to routine calls for service and enforce the traffic laws of the city.

The Department conducts all phases of investigations which include criminal, narcotics and all vice crime investigations utilizing 5 full time investigators and 2 narcotics investigators. The narcotics investigators have created a multi-jurisdictional drug task force that includes the cities of McDonough, Hampton and Locust Grove as well as the Henry County Police Department and Henry County Sheriff's Department. Board members of the Flint Judicial Drug Task Force include Henry County District Attorney Jim Wright, State Court Solicitor General Trea Pipkin, Henry County Sheriff’s Office and the Henry County Police Department Chief Keith Nichols.

Click here to commend or file a complaint on an officer/ employee.